Skip to content

Municipal election results… West wins Leakesville mayor post, Simpson ousted in State Line

Incumbents fare well in alderman races 

From Staff Reports

Voters in McLain, Leakesville and State Line went to the polls on Tuesday to choose their new elected officials.

In the Town of Leakesville, unofficial results show David A. West narrowly defeated Arrixie Garretson Sproul in the race for mayor. West claimed 180 votes, compared to Sproul’s 169. Leakesville officials still have six affidavit ballots and three mail-in absentee ballots, but those would not be enough to change the outcome. West will replace current Leakesville Mayor George Perkins who did not seek re-election to another term.

In the Leakesville aldermen’s race, voters elected to keep all three incumbents who sought re-election. Karen Miller Smith, Joe Bullard and W.J. ‘Bill’ Burley each received enough votes to fight off 10 challengers for their seats on the 5-member board.

Bullard claimed the highest number of votes among the three incumbents with 159. Burley followed with 155, while Smith earned 145.
Challengers W.M. ‘Little Mel’ Williams Jr. and Richard Hale came in strong to claim the other two seats on the board. Williams claimed the highest vote total among aldermen candidates with 167, while Hale received 158 votes.

Clarence Washington led the other challengers with 129 votes. He was followed by Thomas L. Lundy (124), Pauline Porter (123), Doris Holder (106), Rosilyn R. Johnson (100), Christine T. Holloway (98), Chere Mattox Brown (75) and Ray Mac Booth (64).

In McLain, incumbent Mayor Steve McCluskey easily won his re-election bid over former mayor Clyde Sylvester. McLuskey claimed 84 votes, compared to Sylvester’s 31.

All five incumbent aldermen won re-election in McLain. Kenneth Cumbie and David Hartfield tied for the top spot with 87 votes each, while Len Moody claimed 85 and Jan Guest had 74. Francis Byrd reclaimed her spot with 72 votes. Rounding out the vote were James Hobby with 44 votes, while Guy Shiflett had 29 and Lee Ishee claimed 16.

In State Line, current alderman Willie Miller won his bid to unseat incumbent mayor Terry Simpson Sr. Miller, one of two current aldermen to seek the mayor’s post, won the race with 72 votes. Terry John Young came in second with 56 votes, while Simpson earned just 27.

Only five candidates sought a seat on the State Line Board of Aldermen. Incumbent Don R. Hinton led the talley with 81 votes. Rounding out the vote totals were incumbents James Waller Jr. (70) and Michial W. West (69), along with Perry Young (74) and Michael Coaker (67).

Leave a Comment